Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.

Random Story

Better Than Ok by wheelie47 PG
Noah gets caught in the rain...

Shoutbox

scj0710
08/16/17 09:15 pm
❤️Ten Years!❤️ Just spent a lovely time reading - and I have already spotted a couple of fics I have not read before which are next up on my reading list!
Tonya
08/15/17 11:22 pm
Luke and Noah's first kiss happened on this day 10 years ago! I know lots of fans got hooked on the story because of that episode so happy anniversary, fandom!
Tonya
08/15/17 11:12 pm
Sorry about that latest spammer, guys. I've taken every measure I can find to prevent spam & it has definitely reduced it but there doesn't seem to be a 100% fix.
Seajellybaby
07/25/17 04:18 am
Been a while and I come in to find all these lovely layouts... and 10 year! Thanks for all the hard work.
Tonya
07/14/17 11:56 am
The mail system is fully switched now. So my email & all site emails are working!
Tonya
07/13/17 03:25 pm
Hi guys, I'm making some changes to how email on this site works. While things are switching over, my email and this site's auto emails may not work. It should take a few hours max.
European Orchid
07/05/17 01:52 am
New spam account is locked and reviews will be removed. Happy tenth aniversary Nukies! This site AND TONYA rocks and I love you guys to bits!
scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 40%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 10%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 10%
Enchanted
Enchanted 10%
Frosted
Frosted 20%
Hotness
Hotness 10%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4404 members. In total, there have been 28020 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is wanglili.

Who's Online

Guests: 1
Members:
Reviews For Safe House

Name: Kellie29 (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2015 10:08 pm · For: Chapter 13 - Epilogue
I haven't been back to this fandom for many years and I was intrigued by your other story "Fugitives and Refugees" that I read it in one sitting. I love the ease of reading your story so I looked for another long one and came across this one. Again totally amazed. I love reading what you write. Actually, I think you should write more of this fandom and in other genres. I'd read everything! And the longer the story the more appealing they are to me personally. You truly have a gift that most certainly needs to be expanded!!!
Thank you so much!

Author's Response: Holy Shit, Kellie! I turned on my computer this morning and your glowing review popped up. What a way to start my day! I'm glad (and pretty humbled) to read you enjoyed my stories so much. So the heartfelt THANK YOU is on me, really. I'm currently writing my thesis (probably not quite one of the other genres you mention ;-)) so I haven't written fanfic in a while, despite a few ideas bouncing around in my head. I hope to get back to writing for fun after August. Again, thank you so much for your review and for enjoying my scribbling. It is very much appreciated!


Name: jb1183 (Signed) · Date: July 08, 2013 05:53 pm · For: Chapter 1
You know how when an actor is nominated for an Academy Award, they can then forever be referred to as "Academy Award nominee John Smith?" Well, now Safe House can forever be referred to as "Fic of the Month nominee Safe House!" Congratulations on the nomination! :)

Author's Response: Hmmm, perhaps I should change the title.... ;-) Thanks Jim! I'm fairly sure the entire neighbourhood heard me squeal when I found out just now, LOL. I'm unbelievably humbled that the story I so enjoyed writing, but ultimately view as a 'clunky first attempt' was nominated. Particularly in such excellent company. Not to return the compliment, but I was genuinly surprised not to see Solitary Confinement among the titles listed.


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 25, 2013 02:08 am · For: Chapter 13 - Epilogue
Beautiful ending to a wonderful story! Noah's words in particular were so touching. I'm so pleased you decided to write this for us! I home you continue to share your talent! You are awesome!

Author's Response: Gaaaah! Thanks for your praise. When the writers I admire so much have such nice things to say, I hover between embarrased and overjoyed; the latter always wins though, LOL. I'm glad you liked Noah in this chapter. For some reason I usually find him easier to understand than Luke, but there's always doubt. So it's good to hear you think the words I put in his mouth are a fit for him. I loved writing Safe House, and will write more, this was too much fun not to. But RL is kicking my ass right now (busy doesn't even begin to cover it), so it'll have to wait a while. I was hoping for something to post on June 1st, but at this rate, if I'm lucky, that'll be June 1st 2014.... :-) Till then I'll just keep myself occupied by reading more of your wonderful stuff! Thanks for your enthusiasm and support Gillian. You have no idea how much that means!


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2013 11:25 pm · For: Chapter 12
"Same here"

Awwwweeeeeee!!!! Tweet!

Such a mix of hot and adorable! You write the scene so well! Really felt for Noah and admired Luke's handling of the situation...

Author's Response: This was a hard one to write, so I'm glad you think it works. Poor Noah learned the hard way he should be done with trying to (re)solve things in his own, and keeping such life-changing feelings from his therapist was probably (oh, who am I kidding: definetely) a bad idea. Thank heaven for Luke's loving arms. At least they're ready to be together now...


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2013 11:15 pm · For: Chapter 11
Awe! These two are just the cutest! Noah shielding Luke! And that KISS *sigh*

Author's Response: I love reading your comments, lady. They make me smile so wide I'm in danger of breaking my face! Thank you!


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2013 02:52 pm · For: Chapter 10
"Picture-boy" heehee! Good one!

Love Jess... She's obviously the Maddie in this story!

Author's Response: Well, I think of Jess as a Maddie/Casey/Ali-combo, so a little feistier and more outrageous than Maddie (who was always a bit too 'cute' for my taste). Whatever/whomever Jess is, she family, too both of the guys. Noah's been so lonely; I thought he deserved a big sis.


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2013 01:58 pm · For: Chapter 9
OMG OMG! AWESOME! Totally blown away by your writing! Love how you weave a little canon into the story from time to time! Keeps everything familiar...

Author's Response: Thanks Gillian, Your praise has me blushing something awful! The way I see it, some things are determined through all known (alternate) universes, hence the canon-references. Nuke-love is inescapable love. Frankly I'm just bummed I didn't manage to bring the tie along for the ide ;-)


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2013 11:19 pm · For: Chapter 8
Love how Noah is simply unable to ignore Luke for long and how easily he communicates his emotions... Luke is so sweet and understanding in this story... He's really going to deserve that happy ending....

Author's Response: Noah can fight this, but he won't win. We all know that, right? And Luke, as I mentioned before, is essentially all Snyder/Walsh in this story. I'll save 'election-Luke' for another story, there's none of the Grimaldy-heritage in this one.


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2013 01:23 pm · For: Chapter 7
Oh they are each just what the other needs! Loved the sexual tension in this chapter as they both develop feelings for each other...

Magic!

Author's Response: Magic, wow! That's praise indeed from such an incredible writer such as you. Thank you! The feelings are there, they probably always were. Our boys just need to wake up and smell the coffee, already!


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2013 01:10 pm · For: Chapter 6
Beautiful chapter... We learn so much more about this Noah's state of mind... He's really had it tough!

Author's Response: Yeah, Noah's had an even harder life than in canon. I didn't like doing that to him, but I think it explains (but not justifies) his choices. I wanted to make him ending up at this point in his life plausible. But you are right: Pauvre Petit!


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2013 05:23 am · For: Chapter 5
Awe... Look at little Luke all loved up already. Adorable!

Author's Response: I figured, at this point in the story, Luke is more in touch and aware of what he is feeling. Noah has oodles of feelings to, but he finds himself more on the ICK! NO! side of the spectrum. Not gonna hold, obviously...


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2013 05:12 am · For: Chapter 4
He woke up!

Awesome! Loved their first encounter and how sweet is Luke?

Author's Response: Yup, Luke is at his most adorable in this story. Not a Grimaldi-gene in sight, lol!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2013 08:30 am · For: Chapter 13 - Epilogue
What a wonderful chapter, giving such insight into how far Noah has come in his relationship with Luke.

Thank you so much for this beautiful story.

Author's Response: You, my dear, are very welcome. To me, Noah has had the more obvious journey, but Luke came a long way too, albeit in a very different way. Now, they are ready for the rest of their lives to begin. Thank YOU for staying with this fic all the way until the end, and giving such generous reviews. I've certainly enjoyed them!


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2013 08:19 am · For: Chapter 12
Oh, my!
That was beautifully done.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I struggled a lot with this chapter (and the next one). The pain and angst were much easier to write than expressions of love. So it's really nice to read you think I've managed to get it right.


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2013 08:08 am · For: Chapter 11
Oh, wow!! I love Noah's instinctual protectiveness and Luke's dawning realisation of what it meant.

Gorgeous.

Author's Response: Gorgeous. Okay, don't mind reading that, lol. Well, it's been eleven chapters and 7 1/2 weeks essentially locked in a room together. It was about time they figured it out (or at leastone of them did), wasn't it? :-)


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2013 08:02 am · For: Chapter 10
Awwww....boyfriends. Such innocence in the midst of the horrors that are now - I hope - coming to an end.

Good stuff :)

Author's Response: The end of terribleness is neigh. Well, almost.... ;-)


Name: SarahSezLove (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2013 07:53 am · For: Chapter 9
And there it was.

Just like that, with the feel of Luke’s lips against his own, Noah Mayer, who had run as far as Afghanistan to escape his feelings, and spent an amount equivalent to a college education on crack cocaine in his attempt to stay lost, was home.

Absobloominlutely perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you Sarah! Blushing right now...


Name: txnoahfan (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2013 05:26 am · For: Chapter 13 - Epilogue
Excellent job for your first fanfic, you should definitely write more. Your plot line was well developed, the relationship between Luke and Noah was dead on and your pacing was good, kept me coming back for more. Looking forward to your next effort.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading it all, Steve! Your comments were always very concise, and you let me know exactly what you thought worked and why you thought it worked. I really appreciated that learning opportunity, and your encouragement. So glad you enjoyed the ride! I have a few ideas bouncing around in my head, and Louise just came up with a wonderful challenge that wetted my apetite, so this first fanfic will probably not be my last. Now I just need to disentangle myself from RL and find some time to write them... ;-)


Name: comicgirl (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2013 04:20 am · For: Chapter 13 - Epilogue
thank-you that was a wonderful story

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and enjoying it!


Name: comicgirl (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2013 12:25 am · For: Chapter 3
interesting


Name: comicgirl (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2013 12:19 am · For: Chapter 2
good


Name: comicgirl (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2013 09:45 pm · For: Chapter 1
interesting start


Name: scj0710 (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2013 05:25 pm · For: Chapter 13 - Epilogue
You recognize Noah's birthday (***sigh***) in such perfect ways. As always, the million little details (like Dial M for Murder in 3D made to accommodate Noah's vision) are amazing! Thanksgiving with Jess and Noah brings tears to my eyes ("My sweet boys...."). The countless ways Luke and Noah come to love and trust each other completely - both physically and emotionally - are deeply moving. Then you go and make me laugh with Malcolm's mention of Stuart! You bring such vivid life to Safe House that I can easily picture the joy of Luke introducing Noah to his family (now Noah's family, too.....) As always, the quote matches the chapter to perfection! Thank you for Safe House, Mariken - I look forward to reading more from you. The only thing left to do now is throw your words right back at you....."It’s been flawless, in every way."

Author's Response: Confession: I almost missed the modified projection unit, untill I remembered that in this universe, Noah only has one good eye. Oops... But so glad you enjoyed the details. I loved putting them in, hoping to make this tale a little more colourfull and rich. As usual in your review you fathom exactly wat it is I wanted to achieve for the chapter/story. Your praise continues to make me redfaced (and that state lasts far longer than it takes me to read and respond to your reviews!). Last but not least: thanks for throwing my words back at me. I'm not sure I deserve them, but I'll take 'm! Thank YOU, Stacey, for being such a wonderful reader. People like you, I have discovered, make writing even more fun and posting a little less frightening! X


Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2013 02:01 pm · For: Chapter 13 - Epilogue
I can't believe this is your first fanfic. You did an amazing job, crafting an intriguing and moving story that kept us all wanting to read more. Excellent, excellent job!

Author's Response: So, how many synonyms for 'Thank you so incredibly much' are there? I can't seem to come up with any of them and therefore keep repeating myself :-) Thanks for taking this trip with me. The company of the people reading it and sharing their opinions (always in ways that surprised me, moved me, and taught me things) made this even more fun. And kudos from a writer of your caliber gives my blushing-reflex a continuous work-out!


Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: May 05, 2013 01:50 pm · For: Chapter 12
Aww, I'm glad it didn't stay PG-13 - we would have been deprived of the beautiful physical manifestation of their undeniable emotional connection. Damn the colonel for still having the power to ruin even a moment, but yay for Luke knowing how to make things better.

Author's Response: Thanks for your asessment. You always write really scorching love scenes between the boys, and I know/knew I'd never be able to achieve that kind of YUM. I focussed more on what the actions cause in these two men, as this is - in more ways than one - a lifechanging event. It's kind of awesome to me that a fab writer such as you picks up on what I tried to do here (which was underline their connection). I'm much obliged, lady!


You must login (register) to review.