Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.
The Darkening Skies by drivencrazy R
Luke knows he'll need to fight for Noah. He has a few ideas.
Our Love Is Stronger by no1nukelover PG
Luke and Noah are about to see each other for the first time since Noah left for LA! Let's see how this goes!
A Different Kind of Family by SarahSezLove PG
A single sentence makes Noah question what kind of family he and Luke can make together. An abandoned kitten may just hold the answer.
The Other Man by jb1183 PG-13
Noah arrives home from a tour in the Army a few days before Christmas and sees Luke with another man.

Featured

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.

Random Story

Save Me...Again by SarahSezLove PG
Luke saved Noah once before.

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4403 members. In total, there have been 28020 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is carlosdevill.

Shoutbox

scj0710
08/16/17 09:15 pm
❤️Ten Years!❤️ Just spent a lovely time reading - and I have already spotted a couple of fics I have not read before which are next up on my reading list!
Tonya
08/15/17 11:22 pm
Luke and Noah's first kiss happened on this day 10 years ago! I know lots of fans got hooked on the story because of that episode so happy anniversary, fandom!
Tonya
08/15/17 11:12 pm
Sorry about that latest spammer, guys. I've taken every measure I can find to prevent spam & it has definitely reduced it but there doesn't seem to be a 100% fix.
Seajellybaby
07/25/17 04:18 am
Been a while and I come in to find all these lovely layouts... and 10 year! Thanks for all the hard work.
Tonya
07/14/17 11:56 am
The mail system is fully switched now. So my email & all site emails are working!
Tonya
07/13/17 03:25 pm
Hi guys, I'm making some changes to how email on this site works. While things are switching over, my email and this site's auto emails may not work. It should take a few hours max.
European Orchid
07/05/17 01:52 am
New spam account is locked and reviews will be removed. Happy tenth aniversary Nukies! This site AND TONYA rocks and I love you guys to bits!
scj0710
06/15/17 09:45 pm
Ten years...wow! Very cool Tonya - thank you. I look forward to exploring the new layouts!!
Tonya
06/14/17 05:34 pm
I hope you all like the new layouts! :)
Tonya
06/06/17 10:39 am
Congrats to Tala Ashe (Amerra) on joining the cast of Legends of Tomorrow!
Shout Archive

Poll

Which layout do you like best?

Timeless Elegance
Timeless Elegance 40%
3 Column Fullscreen
3 Column Fullscreen 10%
Adrift in Dreams
Adrift in Dreams 10%
Enchanted
Enchanted 10%
Frosted
Frosted 20%
Hotness
Hotness 10%
Vision
Vision 0%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Who's Online

Guests: 1
Members:
Reviews For From the Heart

Name: txnoahfan (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2015 07:18 am · For: Chapter 59
It's a rainy, dreary day here - perfect for going back and re-reading this AMAZING story. I had forgotten how good this is, you totally pulled me back in from the very beginning. Don't know if you will ever finish this or not but just wanted to let you know how good this is.


Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2013 11:06 am · For: Chapter 47
I've been re-reading this story.

GAAAH! The image of Noah reading himself a bedtime story, particularly in contrast to the image you invoke earlier, of Ollie's two parents alternating to read him a story every night, is so. fucking. heartbreakingly. beautiful.

All throughout this chapter the loneliness of Noah's childhood is palpable.

This crushed me in the best possible way!

Author's Response: I have been AWOL too long with this - thanks for the kind words, and the reminder to get writing!


Name: blondie (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 04:35 am · For: Chapter 59
great new up date loved it

Author's Response: Thank you Chris!


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2012 12:53 pm · For: Chapter 59
This was so cute! The banter is perfectly pitched! And now we can understand why Luke panicked in the way he did... he had a fever! Trying to be a tough guy!

SO FAB to see an update of this!

Author's Response: He was crazycakes by the time poor Noah got home. Maybe he'll cover Luke in bubble wrap before his next trip. Get it... trip! Okay. That was awful.


Name: jberri79 (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 08:18 pm · For: Chapter 59

That's it? Luke's a clumsy fuck and nothing happens to him? He should be slapped with child negligent- taking care of a baby while he's running a 104 temp? He could have killed that child, gave him is illness. And what then huh? An "I'm Sorry Noah?" Oh hell no!

Oh and lucky the cabby wasn't an homophobe, that could have went all sorts of wrong.

Good chapter. I mean.... meh. If you want my honest opinion, I think you're being lazy. I'm just saying. Also this Noah is like one of my all time favorite Noah's. But still....meh. ;)

 



Author's Response: I'll forever regret I didn't think of your idea to have Luke fall out the window. #opportunitymissed


Name: Horserider (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 03:34 pm · For: Chapter 59
Brilliant as usual love all the interacting between the guy's in this can't wait for more this was defiantly worth the wait

Author's Response: Thanks, Paul. Sorry about the wait!


Name: newhaven (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 01:04 pm · For: Chapter 59
so glad to see this updated. well done, nic.

Author's Response: Thank you, Sue - glad you enjoyed.


Name: wheelie47 (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 10:46 am · For: Chapter 59
Yay Nic! So good to see you back with an update of this fabulous fic!

Thank goodness Luke and Ollie are going to be ok. That must have been terrifying for Noah to find them like that!

Love the banter between them especially when Noah knows his husband is going to be okay. And seductive bossy Noah is hot.

Hope you don't leave it so long next time.

Author's Response: I'm waiting for Sarah and Lou to catch up. I'm sure they won't mind my blaming them for my slowness.


Name: Cariad123 (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 10:39 am · For: Chapter 59
So wonderful to see an update Nic I so love this story one of the first Nuke fics I read ... hangin on by a thread from the last chapter lol so happy were ok x

Author's Response: I might've killed off Luke for fun if I hadn't already established he's alive in the future LOL.


Name: cabbage (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 10:39 am · For: Chapter 59
Finally, a new chapter, thank you...now please go with the flow, lol
Loved this one and who wouldn't want to hear about bossy Noah in the next part?!

Author's Response: Hee, I wasn't thinking that would come next (because, God forbid I write anything in the order events happen LOL), but we'll see. And GAH, so many apologies for the delay. I did finally get a new netbook, but lost internet access because the company down the street that offered free wifi is closing. At least I have something to write on, so should be able to update all ongoing stories more regularly.


Name: Cariad123 (Signed) · Date: January 28, 2012 09:20 pm · For: Chapter 58

Just had to read again 5.17 am and just finished all 58 chapters , you forget just how amazing this story is it is  wonderful but god theres a way to leave us hanging lol I apologise for not rating and commenting on each chapter but I was so into the zone I needed to get to 58 lol x



Author's Response: You didn't rate and comment on every chapter?!!!! I'm shocked! ;) LOL - Really, I'm just shocked that people are still READING all the chapters. I mean, that's an afternoon right there lmao. Thanks Stella!


Name: blondie (Signed) · Date: January 28, 2012 10:19 am · For: Chapter 58

great chap but leaving it on a cliff hanger like this naughty naughty naughty lol



Author's Response: Oops sorry Chris. I plan to update soon!


Name: jberri79 (Signed) · Date: January 28, 2012 08:40 am · For: Chapter 58
I liked it Nic, although Luke seemed to have a hard time with handling a sticky situation and those are bound to happen as a parent. Geeze I'm surprised he didn't fall out a window.

Great chapter, wife. Even if u don't think so. ;)

Author's Response: Laughed SO much at the idea of Luke falling out the window. That woulda changed the mood a bit, for sure -- because there's no way that wouldn't be comedy. Maybe this *was* sort of comedy already, however unintentionally so.


Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: January 28, 2012 04:22 am · For: Chapter 58

You know, when I read a chapter from start to finish without once stopping, looking up or thinking about anything but what's going on in the story... I consider that to be more than an okay chapter!  This chapter had me glued!  I was so terrified for Luke!  That's a nightmare situation that could happen to anybody! 

SO pleased to see this story updated ;-)



Author's Response: Thanks, Gill. It didn't turn out like I wanted, but that's pretty much everything I write at the moment. Is there a type of writer's block where you can write, but it doesn't turn out as good as it should? (Or good at all, sometimes). Because, I have *that*. LOL.


Name: Aspirwriter (Signed) · Date: January 28, 2012 02:06 am · For: Chapter 58

Jesus, woman!!  What a place to leave it!!! damn.

But, I can't complain because I'm ecstatic to see another chapter of one of my all time favorite fics :)   

The terror you create through words of Luke struggling in the dark to help Ollie is terrific to read.  So easy to envision him panicked with Ollie with a fever (and really, they'd just had the baby 3 months so any little fever or sickness is scary), lights out, alone without Noah, then boom he falls down the steps!   Jesus.  

Love that awareness that comes over Noah as he tries to get a hold of him, then rushes inside to find Luke on the floor.  Soooo scary.    

MY GOD.   You BETTER be writing 59.   Now.....   Please?? :)



Author's Response: Thanks, Tom. I guess I didn't feel like this conveyed Luke's terror like I wanted it to. Glad you thought so, anyway. And yeah, I need to get on Chapter 59...


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 10:04 pm · For: Chapter 57

Oh wow..that was a hot chapter indeed Nic! I feel like I am going back to the future reading this out of sequence!  lol x



Author's Response: Actually, if you read this forwards instead of backwards (:p), it would probably feel the same way, since the fic itself is often out of sequence. I do recommend reading it forwards though lmao.


Name: buttercup (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 07:58 pm · For: Chapter 58

I loved it!  But did you really have to stop it there?  I know Ollie isn't dead since you've been writing about him in the later years, but now I'm gonna be wondering what in the world was wrong with him!  Not fair! LOL



Author's Response: How do you know? Maybe the Ollie of later years is actually a replacement baby Noah procured, after Luke couldn't handle what happened to the *real* Ollie. I kid! Probably.


Name: newhaven (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 07:06 pm · For: Chapter 58
no need to apologize. this was definitely worth the wait.

Author's Response: Aww thanks Sue!


Name: wheelie47 (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 03:49 pm · For: Chapter 58

Great to see you back with an update on this excellent fic, Nic! And what a chapter it was.

I can't imagine the fear that must have been going through Luke's mind as he lay there helpless while Ollie was crying. Dear God!

And poor Noah coming home to find Luke like that. Even though I know Ollie's not dead those last three words are chilling.

 



Author's Response: Luke could be jumping the gun a little. But yeah, to be serious I can't think of much more frightening than being injured and unable to help one's child when they're in need. Poor Luke. Poor Ollie. Poor Noah to come home to this!


Name: Horserider (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 03:10 pm · For: Chapter 58

What a  place to leave us can't imagine how Luke must be feeling after falling and not be able to get to there child it must be everone's nightmare.

So pleased to be able to get back into this again 



Author's Response: I promise not to leave it for too long. Glad you're still enjoying this!


Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 02:52 pm · For: Chapter 58
Omg. Ok. Havent read rest but am reading it anyway esp as nuke are married with a child! Oh no! Hope the baby will be ok! Now just have abt 50 chapters to catchup on Nic! x

Author's Response: Hee, so not too many. ;)


Name: neddiheht (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 02:42 pm · For: Chapter 58

[Chapter 58]I see your penchant for cliff hangers is still there...

Obviously the idea of poor Ollie being sick and alone upstairs while Luke has fallen down the stairs is heart wrenching.  I'm curious at the jump from "stopped crying" to dead, but I've never been a parent, so I don't know what would go through my own head. 

Mostly though I'm just glad to see you working on this one again and hope to see more chapters soon.



Author's Response: Hee, I don't know how much of a cliffhanger this is. At least for anyone besides Lou, who seems to be reading it backwards. :p And Luke's blow to the head has something to do with his reaction. I'm not a parent either, but have seen some overreaction from some who are lol.


Name: neddiheht (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2011 04:45 pm · For: Chapter 57

Yeah, well, we'll see if they ever get around to validating it.  There's a good 21000 words or so of story just waiting for someone to approve so it appears. I have no idea how long that's supposed to take.

I hope the comments were helpful.  I struggle with the line ... I mean, I know what I want from the scene coming into it as a reader, but that is tainted in some ways by my expectations for the genre, the characters, and, frankly, my own personal take on the boys in particular and the Oakdale crew overall.  I can get very nitpicky and I know some comments aren't really helpful... the quotation issue jars me everywhere it comes up, and you use semi-colons in some very interesting ways sometimes.  But what really matters is the story, and it's really quite excellent.  I think you have some very solid ideas that drive the story and it was engaging enough that I really did sit and read through all 70,000 plus words in a single night.  I think though that the next thing I review will be a little shorter...



Author's Response:

Ha - yeah, this is definitely a long one for a single night!  I am very flattered that you read it all, and grateful for all the feedback. 

And OMG @ the semicolons - don't I know it!  I don't know why I'm in love with them.  I think it has something to do with my tendency to write really long, rambling sentences; I started using them trying to break that up somewhat.  (See what I did there?  LOL)  But I completely overuse them, no doubt. 

I'm glad the grammatical and punctuation issues didn't derail the overall story for you too much.

BTW, validation times can vary.  It mostly just depends on if Tonya (the site owner) is online much at the moment.  So it can be a bit of a wait, but the good news is, once you've had the first chapter of a story validated, you can post subsequent chapters with no wait at all.  When you see new stories pop up right now, though, it's because those authors have auto-validation status.  I think this recent change happened because some of us post stories pretty frequently, and we were backing up the queue with things to be validated.  I would imagine once you've established a posting history, you could ask Tonya when you would be eligible for auto-validation.



Name: neddiheht (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2011 12:32 pm · For: Chapter 57

[Chapter 57]And it's ended, for now, on such a dirty hot sexy note.  This is excellent, btw.  The sex is believable, the feeling of being addicted to the taste of someone equally so.  And yes, it's not so unusual (given that climaxing at the same time is so really rare) for there to be a ritual of watching the other partner jerk off (or jerking them off) after the "main event" so to speak is finished. 

You've written some steamy scenes in past chapters, but this is the one that really feels the most sexy to me, that really makes me believe their addiction to each other.



Author's Response:

Yay, sexy sexytimes!  That's what I'm hoping for LOL!

Seriously, THANK YOU for all of the really well-thought out, instructive, and informative feedback!  Some habits of mine are probably too ingrained to change much, but there is so much I hope I can keep in mind to make things flow better in the future. 

Really looking forward to reading your story!



Name: neddiheht (Signed) · Date: December 15, 2011 12:21 pm · For: Chapter 56

[Chapter 56] I still wonder at Lily mulling over those very old wounds at her wedding.  And I'm not sure the rehash of the IM conversation was necessary, since it is only a few chapters prior.

As for conventions in gay marriages around names: they vary widely.   The conservative approach is to keep them the same and have neither partner take a different name.  There are good legal reasons (centered on international travel and the difficulties of getting the federal government to recognize a name change that is part of a gay marriage) for doing it that way.

Both partners choosing to take the last name of one of the partners is not unusual.  hypenating is also common.  I've also seen taking the name of the city/town where the couple met, or taking a grandparents last name done.

I don't know as well how it goes down in lesbian couples, but for gay couples it's usually a very serious conversation, because there's a cultural expectation that the man will keep his name, and while most members of the couples themselves are usually happy to change a name, there's often a lot of pressure from family not to.

That's a long way of saying that I think it's really very apt for Noah to have thought it through.  Though it's unusual for someone in a business where name recognition is everything to change their name.



Author's Response:

Yeah, there are so many ways people choose what to go with, even in opposite-sex marriages.  But there is a more established tradition there, unlike in gay marriages, where one course of action isn't so prevalent.  So of course Holden wouldn't know what the boys would end up doing, apart from his logical assumptions drawn from Luke's words.

I *did* think of the name-change issue in regards to Noah's career, but decided a documentary filmmaker doesn't so much make his bread and butter on name recognition as the quality of his work.  Of course, being an Oscar winner won't hurt!

Ultimately, I think the Mayer legacy was a painful one for Noah.  That said, I don't see his reason just being a desire to turn his back on the Mayer name, quite as much as wanting his family with Luke to be a continuation of the Snyder legacy.



You must login (register) to review.