Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | Register

Most Recent

New Year's Eve by Bijou PG
Luke finds the letter Noah wrote him on New Year's Eve 2008 and plans a surprise.

Featured

Westfield Academy by lukenoahangels NC-17
Luke is the popular boy at an exclusive private school. Noah is quiet and shy and has a mad crush on...

Random Story

For The First Time by SarahSezLove PG
Whilst spending time at the hospital with his gran, Luke meets the man of his dreams - but does he even...

Shoutbox

Tonya
10/20/17 01:47 pm
@mldent1 - I think Hotmail is blocking my emails to you. I just tried sending from another address. If you didn't get your temp pw, please email me from a non-Hotmail address & I'll send again
Tonya
10/08/17 06:19 pm
Thanks so much for pointing that out @painfullystoic. I've removed the account and deleted all the SPAM reviews.
painfullystoic
10/07/17 10:39 pm
ewuser.php?uid=4709 is posting spam on people's stories, in the comments. Also cool new site. :D
Tonya
09/26/17 06:20 pm
[Reminder, Pt 2] If you've checked your SPAM folder & still can't find the email (or if you've changed emails since you joined) you can email tonya@nukefic.com & I can help!
Tonya
09/26/17 06:18 pm
[Reminder] If you've lost your password & don't receive the site's password reset email, please check your SPAM folder.
Tonya
09/05/17 02:53 pm
Congrats to Billy Magnussen (Casey) on being cast in the Aladdin movie. Nice to see so many ATWT alum doing so well!
scj0710
08/16/17 09:15 pm
❤️Ten Years!❤️ Just spent a lovely time reading - and I have already spotted a couple of fics I have not read before which are next up on my reading list!
Tonya
08/15/17 11:22 pm
Luke and Noah's first kiss happened on this day 10 years ago! I know lots of fans got hooked on the story because of that episode so happy anniversary, fandom!
Tonya
08/15/17 11:12 pm
Sorry about that latest spammer, guys. I've taken every measure I can find to prevent spam & it has definitely reduced it but there doesn't seem to be a 100% fix.
Seajellybaby
07/25/17 04:18 am
Been a while and I come in to find all these lovely layouts... and 10 year! Thanks for all the hard work.
Shout Archive

Poll

Do you watch any of the remaining soap operas?

Days of Our Lives
Days of Our Lives 23%
The Young and the Restless
The Young and the Restless 7%
The Bold and the Beautiful
The Bold and the Beautiful 7%
General Hospital
General Hospital 0%
No, I don't watch soaps anymore.
No, I don 61%
Poll Archive

Support This Site

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Site Info

We are home to 185 authors and 4404 members. In total, there have been 28111 reviews written about the 992 fanfictions posted on this site. Our newest member is 2ndlove.

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:
Reviews For Dear Noah

Name: European Orchid (Signed) · Date: January 25, 2013 02:52 pm · For: Dear Luke
This is exactly right! These letters adress everything the show left so shamefully unexplored. From Luke finally realising that Noah wasn't so much pushing him away as giving him up, to Noah discussing how very thoroughly he has internalised his father's hatred for him, and everything else before and since.

Also: what an absolutely superb piece of witing. You have so perfectly captured the boy's personalities I actually heard their voices in my head as I read their respective letters.

I could gush for several more paragraphs. I won't. I'll reluctantly settle for rating this 10. But frankly, that's just because a higher number is unavailable to me.

Author's Response: You are so kind. I can't even begin to express to you how much your review means to me. These letters were my first foray into fanfiction and I felt called to write, needed to write, in these boys' own words, all the things I so wanted to hear them say to each other. "Shameful" is exactly right in describing the treatment of Nuke toward the end of the show. It was a major slap in the face to people who had loved and rooted for those characters and their relationship. I am constantly in awe at how much better amateur writers do with concluding their story than the so-called "professionals" did. Thank you again for your generous feedback on all my stories and I hope you will continue to enjoy all the excellent work on this site.


Name: MDFawn (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2012 06:20 pm · For: Dear Luke
I'm taking some time to catch up with some wonderful fanfics and I'm so glad I read this one.

THESE are the conversations we should have seen between Luke and Noah on screen. The fact that you added in Noah's letter that he'd been in therapy is a fact that should have been explored. I mean, really, the crap that the Colonel put him through . . . the boy should have had a weekly appointment indefinitely

Great, great job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I agree, it seemed as if Luke and Noah's conversations were always so circular-"You pushed me away,Noah!" "I know, Luke, and I'm sorry, but I just needed space!" and just repeated the same back and forth over and over again without really digging into the deeper issues at play. So, as a fan, these letters are what I wished they would have said to each other. And I agree that therapy is a must for Noah and probably for Luke, too. In my fic Every Dream I've Ever Had, I have a flashback depicting Luke and Noah attending weekly couple's counseling following their inevitable reunion in LA. Thanks for giving my old fic a chance and for your kind feedback! I appreciate it!


Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2011 11:54 am · For: Dear Luke

JIM!

I'm not meaning to yell at you -- like Noah, I just have all the feelings I don't know what to do with!  As much as the first letter from Luke touched me, this one is even better.  I can't even fully describe how much this moved me.

I am first and foremost a Noah girl, and you write him to perfection.  When people criticize Noah for being closed off with his feelings, I always think "is it any wonder?"  For 18 years, he had one person close to him, his father -- and that person was emotional anthrax.  The mystery is how in the hell Noah turned out to be so incredible loving and compassionate; that in and of itself is a miracle!

One of the great things about fanfic is even for shows that are still on the air, while we can rarely go into the character's minds to hear their thoughts, very perceptive writers like you allow us to do that.  What's especially incredible in your breakdown of Noah here is that you go very deep and delve into extremely complex issues, yet do not set one foot wrong.

I'm rating this a 10, but know there's not a number high enough to encompass the awesome that this is.



Author's Response:

I can't even tell you how much your amazing feedback means to me :) Thank you so very, very much!

I found myself getting a bit misty eyed at times writing the first letter from Luke, but writing this one got me genuinely emotional. I have always loved Noah, but getting inside his head and coming to the full realization of his struggle with self worth and his fear of abandonment filled me with such overwhelming compassion and sympathy for him as I wrote. So much so that I found myself getting pissed off at Luke, which presented me with a new challenge since I needed to be giving voice to Noah's profound and abiding love for him! :)

I agree with you about Noah's emotional unavailability. How could he have been raised by Colonel Mayer and not have some issues? I'll never understand the people who bash Noah or claim that he doesn't deserve Luke. Both boys have made some serious mistakes along the road, but their mutual love for each other always leapt right off the screen at me, and has been captured beautifully by so many of the writers here.

By the way, your fics are awesome. I intend to go back and write some reviews for them, hopefully next week. Thanks again! :)



Name: Valenti1965 (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2011 09:54 am · For: Dear Luke

Totally beautiful honest letters to one another...this is a wonderful fanfic Jim. I can't believe it is your 1st one. x



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I appreciate the feedback. I feel so honored to receive such generous praise! :)



Name: Paultheswan (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2011 08:18 am · For: Dear Noah

Jim, these two letters sum up what SHOULD have happened and maybe one day will. When the boys broke up I felt like I was going through a divorce myself. I was so hurt. And now with these two letters in hand I start crying again and feel happy you gave them that chance that they should have gotten on-screen.

The way you make us feel a part of Luke and Noah's brain is very difficult to do, but you pulled it off.

Your way of writting touches my heart and I sincerely hope you will continue your writing career because you've got what it takes to move the reader.

Well Done



Author's Response:

Paul,

Writing these two letters was a deeply cathartic experience for me. I feel you so much about how hard it was to watch the boys' beautiful relationship end in such a painful way. I was honestly DEPRESSED by the ending and sought out fanfic to help me cope. And it really has helped me.

You are so right, healing and reconciling words like the ones in these letters SHOULD have been exchanged before the show ended. But I take comfort in my firm belief that Luke and Noah ultimatley reconciling, sooner rather than later, is the only ending that makes sense for the characters. And I will always stand by my belief that, while Luke cared for Reid, he wasn't really in love with him and that if Reid had not died, Luke would have realized it pretty quickly. Reid's death probably ended up postponing the inevitable Nuke reunion by only a few extra months. That's my story and I'm sticking to it! 

Thank you so much for your kind encouragement. I'm thrilled that you were moved reading it. I was moved writing it! These boys just hold such a special place in my heart. Thanks again :)



Name: tika (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2011 03:41 am · For: Dear Luke

love it..



Author's Response:

And I love your comment! Writing and reading about these two is such a joy!



Name: Wallywa617 (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2011 08:56 pm · For: Dear Luke

amazing follow up!!! i'd love to see more chapters about what happens when luke finally gets there and reads noah's letter and what happens after!!! =D



Author's Response:

Thanks so much! I am sensing that I will now have to move beyond the letter format and try my hand at a narrative format. Kind of a scary prospect! The letters were alot of fun because I really got a chance to get inside both boys' heads. I'm glad you felt it was a worthy follow up :)



Name: comicgirl (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2011 07:45 pm · For: Dear Luke

 O,M,G!!just breathtaking !!!please continue this!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much. I'll have to think about what direction to take it in.... I appreciate your feedback :)



Name: Aspirwriter (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2011 06:59 pm · For: Dear Luke

This made me smile :)  His profession of love, particularly as it related to their first time making love, was heartfelt.  Terrific writing - hard to believe these letters are your first foray into writing.   Congratulations.

Tom



Author's Response:

Tom,

Thank you. I'm glad it made you smile. And I actually think the paragraph about their first time might be my favorite part, too!:) Your feedback (on both chapters) really means so very much to me because of what a tremendous writer you are. I read some of your stories when I first registered and I intend to go back and write some reviews for them in the very near future! :)

Jim



Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2011 01:21 pm · For: Dear Luke

"the ridiculous part of all of that is that I have hurt you more than I have ever hurt anyone because I love you more than I've ever loved anyone"

No truer line was written. 

This is an absolutely beautiful insight into Noah's psychi!  Perfectly written and so heartfelt.  Really tugged at my heartstrings in more than a few parts. 

Well done! 



Author's Response:

Thanks Gillian! Noah is such a gift of a character and such a challenge to write (as you know only too well). I adore Luke, but for the most part he is a very what-you-see-is-what-you-get character. Noah has many layers and it was an enlightening experience trying to peel them back and peer inside. Thanks for your support!

 



Name: SmileBabyJane (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2011 12:16 pm · For: Dear Noah

I'm gonna adopt u, can I? Pretty please:) Jajajaja praise is given when praise is due:)



Author's Response:

Noone's ever asked to adopt me before! I'm very flattered :) Your praise is very kind, thank you.



Name: md1347 (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2011 12:32 pm · For: Dear Noah

Very nice story.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and for the kind feedback!



Name: Seajellybaby (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2011 04:27 am · For: Dear Noah

First of all welcome!  It’s always nice to have a new author join!  :-)


 


Sorry I’ve been so slow in reading your amazing first fic but RL has been getting in the way of my Nuke fun lately…


 


I totally adore how you showed Luke using the letter writing to work through the ideas and thoughts he’s obviously been having for some time…  He knows what he needs to do… but it’s like writing it down just gives him that final push…


 


This is really very heartfelt and soul-searching and I hope you’ll continue to write and post to the site.  


 


Congratulations! 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the warm welcome! You have done that for me at two sites now because this is Jim, your friend and big fan over at lukeandnoahfans. I'm not sure why I signed up with a different username over here, but it is I just the same! Your affirming feedback means so very much to me. I hope I don't have to tell you that your fics have been instrumental in inspiring me to try to write one myself and in giving me valuable insight into Noah's psychology during his blindness. In my view, your stories help set the standard for what Nukefic should be!

And yes, Luke really was using the letter to finally get the truth out. I thought his comparisons to his coming out struggle were pretty appropriate. And we know he has always used writing to work through some of his most complicated emotions (ie his blog, "Invisible Girl"), so the letter made sense as a mode of expression for him.

I hope RL doesn't get in the way too much longer, because I am dying to know how Nuke escape from Uganda! Thank you again so very much for the kind words! Getting feedback like that from an author as talented as you makes my day!



Name: SmileBabyJane (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2011 02:45 am · For: Dear Noah

Frankly, just have to say I love it (and I would have said I love u, but since I don't know u, u mind find me more than a little bit freaky). One of the best fic ever (for me it's in the Top 5). Thanks for writing this, for being fair to both of them.



Author's Response:

Thank you so very much. It's ok, You can say you love me, I'm always willing to soak up the love! Your feedback touches my heart and I'm so glad that you appreciated the fic (Top 5! What an amazing compliment!) and thought it was fair to both of them. I hated how the ATWT writers trashed poor Noah and tried to make Reid seem like the "good guy" and Noah seem like "the bad guy." It was really stupid and thank goodness we have fic to help us sort all of that out after the fact!



Name: wheelie47 (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2011 12:28 pm · For: Dear Noah

Welcome to this site! So good to see new authors posting here!

This was so good! Loved how you portrayed Luke in this letter, how you dealt with his emotions, how you had him realise that they were both to blame and had him realising that Noah was his home. So touching.

Really hope that you write more, hopefully from Noah's perspective.

Thanks for sharing x



Author's Response:

Thank you for the warm welcome and for your generous feedback. When I wrote this piece, I wasn't even thinking of doing one from Noah's perspective, but so many folks have suggested and encouraged it that I think I will probably end up doing it! Thanks for reading!



Name: blondie (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2011 03:10 am · For: Dear Noah

loved it



Author's Response:

And I loved this comment! Thank you for reading!



Name: Appassionata (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2011 02:43 am · For: Dear Noah

Thanks for sharing this beautiful and touching piece with us.  You perfectly capture that moment in time for Luke when all of his feelings bubble up to the surface and he can no longer repress them.  I love the detail and emotion in your writing in which you capture the true character of Luke.  This letter was a delight to read and I hope we see more of your work very soon.



Author's Response:

And thanks for sharing your beautiful and touching feedback with me! I am thrilled that you feel I adequatley captured the character of Luke. In choosing to have the entire piece written by "him," I was hoping it would sound like his authentic "voice." It makes me happy to know you think it did!



Name: Cariad123 (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2011 12:20 am · For: Dear Noah

I so loved your story winderful x Thank you x



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and for the generous feedback! I appreciate it so very much!



Name: daan73 (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 11:57 pm · For: Dear Noah

would love to see you do a follow up to this when Luke arrives at LA!!

Danielle



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading! I think first I am going to try my hand at composing a companion letter from Noah to Luke, but then who knows where this could go from there? This could become a habit!



Name: comicgirl (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 11:31 pm · For: Dear Noah

o,m,g you need to continue this  please !!!



Author's Response:

I think I will! Thank you so much for the generous feedback!



Name: tammynelson78 (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 06:37 pm · For: Dear Noah

I WANT TO SEE NOAH'S REPLY



Author's Response:

Since so many others have said the same thing, I think I will sit down and write it when I have the time to give it the attention it deserves. Thanks for reading!



Name: newhaven (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 06:08 pm · For: Dear Noah
"I was scared. I was so scared I would never walk again. Why could I not recognize the fear that was being masked by your hostility toward me? You didn't think you would be able to make me happy as a blind boyfriend. The main reason you were so desperate to get your sight back was that it was the only way you could imagine being any kind of real companion or lover to me. I am so stupid for not being able to figure this out earlier, Noah. I lived exactly another version of this and I knew the hell it caused me. You weren't the only one who was “blind” at that time."

Where have you been hiding? This piece was so insightful...so characteristic of a seasoned nukefic writer and not a first-timer.

I totally agree with Tom (Aspirwriter). You must do a follow-up chapter with Noah's POV.

Meanwhile thank you so much for sharing your amazing gift w/ all of us. I really hope we get to read more from you.

Congratulations on such an excellent first-time presentation!

sue

Author's Response:

Thanks Sue,

Your kind and generous feedback means so very much to me, I can't even tell you. This wasn't my first foray into creative writing, but it is my first fanfic. I have never been so drawn to any other fictional characters before as I am to Luke and Noah and have become addicted to nukefic, particularly stories that seek to rectify the damage done to their relationship in the last few months of the show.

I will likely do a follow-up with Noah sometime in the near future, which I think will be a bigger challenge since Noah is not as naturally verbal as Luke.

Your comment has made my day! Thanks again!

Jim



Name: Aspirwriter (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 04:32 pm · For: Dear Noah

Congrats on your first story.  I think it is awesome :)

It's a beautiful, heartfelt and very real-sounding expression of Luke's thoughts and feelings and emotions.  You build perfectly with him describing how the family is doing, then eventually, Reid, and finally getting to why he's writing...Reid is not Noah.  He realizes that now.  He easily in the letter moves to express his emotion for Noah very tenderly.   

Great writing.  and congrats again :)

Tom

P.S.  Surely I won't be the only one to strongly recommend you write a follow up from Noah's point of view.... either his reaction to reading this letter, or writing one of his own, or him picking Luke up, or what.... 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tom. Your kind feedback means alot to me because I think your stories are simply wonderful! I'm glad that you noted and appreciated the "slow build" to the real purpose of the letter.

And in light of the extremely touching and generous feedback I have gotten on this piece, I am strongly considering a follow up narrated from Noah's perspective. I think that one will be a bigger challenge, though, since by Noah's own admission, expressing himself in words is not his strong suit as it is for Luke. I would want to stay true to that and try to strike the proper balance between something that is engaging and articulate, but also captures Noah's authentic "voice." It could be alot of fun! Thanks again for the encouragement :)

Jim



Name: cindyls1969 (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 03:56 pm · For: Dear Noah

You have perfectly captured it all. How Noah felt, why he acted like he did. This was beautiful! Thank you.



Author's Response:

And thank you for the kind words! I wish the ATWT writers had bothered to explore Noah's internal struggle during his blindness. He was in a tremendous amount of emotional pain and instead of exploring that in an illuminating way, they just chose to portray him as a one note meanie who deserved to lose Luke. It was so stupid and the character and Jake Silbermann deserved better. Thankfully, Jake's nuanced handling of all those terribly written moments for Noah hinted at the greater depth beneath the surface and served as the basis for my interpretation (via Luke's insights) of Noah's thoughts and actions. I am delighted that you think I did justice to what he was going through.



Name: ficnic (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2011 02:48 pm · For: Dear Noah

Wow I just love this to bits.  This is the exactly the connection I'm thinking about and speaking of when I write about the boys, but you do it so much more eloquently.  Terrific story!



Author's Response:

I think you articulate it plenty eloquently! Yours are some of my favorite stories on here! Thank you so much for reading and for the kind and encouraging feedback!



You must login (register) to review.